I was having an issue with excel locking up when it was looking up data in another worksheet. Worked fine in the older version of excel, but recently just upgraded to Windows 8/Office 2013.
Here is what I did to fix it:
Close everything you have open.
Open Windows Explorer, Navigate to C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 15\root\office15\
Locate a file named osf.dll. Right click it and select Rename. Just add .old to the end so it says osf.dll.old.
Opened office and tried the files that were giving me problems. The problem was fixed!
OS: Windows 8.1
Office: 2013
Source: Link
**This did not fix the issue. I ran CCLeaner and it looks like there were over 3GB of files in temp folders. Will report back if this fixed it.
This is a places that post walk throughs, my thoughts, notes, and writes-ups. Although they worked for me, ***USE AT YOUR OWN RISK***!
Showing posts with label Excel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Excel. Show all posts
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Wednesday, September 12, 2012
Tuesday, March 22, 2011
Using Excel with Dual Monitors Windows XP, Windows 7 and Office 2010
I have dual monitors and a lot of times I want an excel file on each monitor. Typically that can't happen because they are both contained inside of excel. Here is how you can have it open two instances of excel. Make sure Excel is closed.
Open Windows Explorer... At the top select Tools -> Folder Options -> File Types
Scroll down to the excel file types. The two types you'll need to change are xls and xlsx.
You will want to highlight that extention and click advance -> Select Open -> Click Edit
In the "Application used to perform action:" Box scroll to the end of the box and add "%1". You need the quotes. Uncheck DDE and click ok. Click ok and do the same for xls or xlsx. Now open two excel docs and they will be in two instances!
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\EXCEL.EXE" /dde
Change to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\EXCEL.EXE" /dde "%1"
Click Ok
Rename command to command2
Repeat the following for Excel.Sheet.12
Full credit goes to this guy for figuring it out since the previous way was not possible any more. Link
Open Windows Explorer... At the top select Tools -> Folder Options -> File Types
Scroll down to the excel file types. The two types you'll need to change are xls and xlsx.
You will want to highlight that extention and click advance -> Select Open -> Click Edit
In the "Application used to perform action:" Box scroll to the end of the box and add "%1". You need the quotes. Uncheck DDE and click ok. Click ok and do the same for xls or xlsx. Now open two excel docs and they will be in two instances!
Source: Link
UPDATED:
For Windows 7 and Office 2010:
NOTE: ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE MAKING CHANGES. I am not responsible if you screw up your computer changing these settings.
Click the Windows Start button/orb -> Type Regedit
Navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Excel.Sheet.8\shell\Open\command
Double click the (Default) key and it should say:
Change to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\EXCEL.EXE" /dde "%1"
Click Ok
Rename command to command2
Repeat the following for Excel.Sheet.12
Full credit goes to this guy for figuring it out since the previous way was not possible any more. Link
Labels:
Excel,
Excel 2010,
Windows 7,
Windows XP
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)