I ran into something weird. I switched users in iTunes and all of a sudden anything I downloaded crashes. Ok no big deal, I'll log out and switch to the original user. Nope now happening all the time for all users. I searched and there are a ton of try this try that out there but nothing worked.
What ended up working for me was deleting the whole iTunes folder. When I relaunched it, it created all the folders and everything was working again.
OS: Mac OS 10.12.6
iTunes 12.8.0.150
This is a places that post walk throughs, my thoughts, notes, and writes-ups. Although they worked for me, ***USE AT YOUR OWN RISK***!
Showing posts with label Mac OS X. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mac OS X. Show all posts
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Friday, October 6, 2017
How to add remote disc to macOS 10.12
Open a terminal:
Open Finder
Go to Devices
Select your hard drive
You should now see Remote Disc
mac:~ user$ sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.NetworkBrowser EnableODiskBrowsing -bool true
Password:
mac:~ user$ killall Finder
Open Finder
Go to Devices
Select your hard drive
You should now see Remote Disc
Labels:
10.12,
Mac OS X,
macOS,
Remote Disc
Monday, September 28, 2015
Control+Alt+Delete on a Mac when RDP'ing to a Windows Machine
I had just found this and can't believe I never knew this.
fn+Control+Alt+RightArrow
It works just the same as Control+Alt+Delete
Source: Link
fn+Control+Alt+RightArrow
It works just the same as Control+Alt+Delete
Source: Link
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Hackintosh Asus Rampage Formula (UPDATED: 10.10.1 Yosemite)
Asus Rampage Formula
Nvidia 6800GT
Audio: SupremeFX II (Chipset:AD1988B)
Source: Link Link Link
http://lifehacker.com/5841604/the-always-up+to+date-guide-to-building-a-hackintosh
Go to http://www.tonymacx86.com/. It is the place for everything.
Network Driver I found here
Download driver and put in /Extra/Extensions
Reboot and go into Network Preferences and it will say it found a new network device.
10.8
boot with flags: PCIRootUID=0
How to install: Link
10.9
boot with flags: GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v
Nvidia 6800GT
Audio: SupremeFX II (Chipset:AD1988B)
Source: Link Link Link
http://lifehacker.com/5841604/the-always-up+to+date-guide-to-building-a-hackintosh
Go to http://www.tonymacx86.com/. It is the place for everything.
Network Driver I found here
Download driver and put in /Extra/Extensions
Reboot and go into Network Preferences and it will say it found a new network device.
10.8
boot with flags: PCIRootUID=0
How to install: Link
10.9
boot with flags: GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v
Took a couple of minutes but eventually booted.
How to install: Link
After install was complete rebooted off USB selected the Mavericks Install Drive and booted with the flags again GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v
To get the network drivers to work was a little bit more tricky. I first needed to download this utility. It's called KW.zip. I downloaded it to a USB drive and copied it over. Unzipped the file and ran Kext Wizard. Then click Installation -> Browse and then select the drive you downloaded from the above link. The destination is important because it seems like the only way this will work is if you put it in System/Library/Extensions. If you don't do it correctly, it will keep popping up with error messages. This utility does it the right way. Reboot and open Network Preferences. It will say it found two interfaces. For what ever reason it was saying that neither was connected. I removed both by hitting the minus sign and readded en1. I have the cable plugged into port 2 on the pack which is the top ethernet port.
10.10
So getting Yosemite has been tricky. The previous versions seemed to go easier. I finally got this working. I couldn't get Unibeast to work perfectly so I tried Clover and that was even a bigger disaster. Multibeast and Unibeast must have been updated since the first time I tried it.
Here is what I did:
Boot Flags: GraphicsEnabler=Yes
Multibeast Selected:
How to install: Link
After install was complete rebooted off USB selected the Mavericks Install Drive and booted with the flags again GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v
To get the network drivers to work was a little bit more tricky. I first needed to download this utility. It's called KW.zip. I downloaded it to a USB drive and copied it over. Unzipped the file and ran Kext Wizard. Then click Installation -> Browse and then select the drive you downloaded from the above link. The destination is important because it seems like the only way this will work is if you put it in System/Library/Extensions. If you don't do it correctly, it will keep popping up with error messages. This utility does it the right way. Reboot and open Network Preferences. It will say it found two interfaces. For what ever reason it was saying that neither was connected. I removed both by hitting the minus sign and readded en1. I have the cable plugged into port 2 on the pack which is the top ethernet port.
10.10
So getting Yosemite has been tricky. The previous versions seemed to go easier. I finally got this working. I couldn't get Unibeast to work perfectly so I tried Clover and that was even a bigger disaster. Multibeast and Unibeast must have been updated since the first time I tried it.
Here is what I did:
Boot Flags: GraphicsEnabler=Yes
Multibeast Selected:
- EasyBeast
- Bootloaders
- Chimera v4.0.1
- Customize
- Basic Boot Options
- GraphicsEnabler=Yes
- Hibernate Mode - Desktop
- Kext Dev Mode
- Use KernelCache
- Verbose Boot
Everything worked except Audio and network. I got 1/2 working.
Networking:
- Found this thread (Link) and it lists this driver kext (Link)
- I had trouble with previous kexts but I got it to work using this utility (Link)
NOTE: I installed 10.10.1 and I lost networking so it looks like every time there is an upgrade, you'll have to reload networking.
Thursday, September 19, 2013
Specifying your sent folder /Syncing Folders between OS X Mail and your IMAP Mail provider
I was configuring the mail app in OS X, but I quickly noticed something. When sending email, the sent mail would be put in a folder locally and not on the server where it should be.
Here's how to solve that.
Open OS X Mail app. This is also assuming you already have your email configured.
On the left side you will see folders like Junk, Trash, Sent, etc. If you click those and there is already emails in there, that is most likely your folder on the server.
Click the email and then go to Mailbox-> Use this mailbox for -> and select the purpose (ie: Sent)
Now it has been setup to use that specific folder for that action!
Here's how to solve that.
Open OS X Mail app. This is also assuming you already have your email configured.
On the left side you will see folders like Junk, Trash, Sent, etc. If you click those and there is already emails in there, that is most likely your folder on the server.
Click the email and then go to Mailbox-> Use this mailbox for -> and select the purpose (ie: Sent)
Now it has been setup to use that specific folder for that action!
Labels:
E-Mail,
gmail,
junk folder,
Mac OS X,
OS X,
sent folder,
trash folder,
Zimbra
Friday, August 2, 2013
How do I configure Mozilla Thunderbird to work with Zimbra Calendar
Download the Lightening Extension -> http://www.mozilla.org/projects/calendar/lightning/
Install the add on -> Tools -> Add-ons -> Click the circle beside the search box -> Select Install Add-on from File
Restart Thunderbird
Click the new calendar icon in the top right.
Right click the whitespace on the left and click "New Calendar"
Select On the Network -> Continue
Select iCalendar (ICS) -> Type https://yourmailaddress.com/home/yourusename/Calendar
Type in your username/password and Your calendar should show up now.
Tested on:
OS X 10.8.4
Thunderbird 17.0.7
Lightening 19.1
Source: Link
Install the add on -> Tools -> Add-ons -> Click the circle beside the search box -> Select Install Add-on from File
Restart Thunderbird
Click the new calendar icon in the top right.
Right click the whitespace on the left and click "New Calendar"
Select On the Network -> Continue
Select iCalendar (ICS) -> Type https://yourmailaddress.com/home/yourusename/Calendar
Type in your username/password and Your calendar should show up now.
Tested on:
OS X 10.8.4
Thunderbird 17.0.7
Lightening 19.1
Source: Link
Labels:
Add-ons,
Calendar,
E-Mail,
Lightening,
Mac OS X,
Mountain Lion,
Thunderbird
How to check all folders in Thunderbird when receiving mail
Typically this is necessary when you have rules that automatically put mail in organized folders. With out this option being set, you need to click on the folder to update.
Open Thunderbird
For Mac:
Thunderbird -> Preferences -> Adavanced -> General -> Click the Config Editor
Click "I'll be careful, I Promise"
In the Filter section type: mail.server.default.check_all_folders_for_new
The full Preference Name is: mail.server.default.check_all_folders_for_new
The Default vaule is set to False. Double click and it will change to True. Close this window and click a new email. You should now start to see new messages popping up in the folders you have on the left.
Tested On:
Mac OS X 10.8.4
Click "I'll be careful, I Promise"
In the Filter section type: mail.server.default.check_all_folders_for_new
The full Preference Name is: mail.server.default.check_all_folders_for_new
The Default vaule is set to False. Double click and it will change to True. Close this window and click a new email. You should now start to see new messages popping up in the folders you have on the left.
Tested On:
Mac OS X 10.8.4
Thunderbird 17.0.7
Labels:
E-Mail,
Mac OS X,
Mountain Lion,
Thunderbird
Thursday, May 9, 2013
How to get OS X 10.8.3 Mountain Lion running in ESXi 5
First you need to obtain the vmdk files from the Soul Dev Team.
They are located here - > Link
Once you download everything you need, you will need to copy the unlocker files to the ESXi box.
Navigate to OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion Retail VMware Image\VMware Unlocker - Mac OS X Guest\VMware 8.x Series\VMware ESXi Unlocker
You need to copy the Unlocker.ESXi and the install.sh.
If you don't already have SSH enabled here is how you do it -> Link
Next SCP the files (replace x.x.x.x with your IP)
If you are using OS X
scp -v Unlocker.ESXi root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
scp -v install.sh root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
If you are using Windows I suggest you use putty(Link)
C:\Program Files (x86)\PuTTY>pscp.exe "Unlocker.ESXi" root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
Now SSH to the ESXi box.
Type: cd /tmp -> Enter
Type chmod 777 * -> Enter
Type ./install.sh -> Enter
Reboot
Run VMware converter (Link)
Boot up the vm and go through the installer
You need to remove the network adapter and add another one. This time it will pull a dhcp address.
You need to install the update fixer and then apply the latest patches. Now at this point vmware tools will install correctly.
Sources: Link
They are located here - > Link
Once you download everything you need, you will need to copy the unlocker files to the ESXi box.
Navigate to OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion Retail VMware Image\VMware Unlocker - Mac OS X Guest\VMware 8.x Series\VMware ESXi Unlocker
You need to copy the Unlocker.ESXi and the install.sh.
If you don't already have SSH enabled here is how you do it -> Link
Next SCP the files (replace x.x.x.x with your IP)
If you are using OS X
scp -v Unlocker.ESXi root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
scp -v install.sh root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
If you are using Windows I suggest you use putty(Link)
C:\Program Files (x86)\PuTTY>pscp.exe "Unlocker.ESXi" root@x.x.x.x:/tmp
Now SSH to the ESXi box.
Type: cd /tmp -> Enter
Type chmod 777 * -> Enter
Type ./install.sh -> Enter
Reboot
Run VMware converter (Link)
Boot up the vm and go through the installer
You need to remove the network adapter and add another one. This time it will pull a dhcp address.
You need to install the update fixer and then apply the latest patches. Now at this point vmware tools will install correctly.
Sources: Link
Labels:
ESXi,
Hackintosh,
MAC,
Mac OS X,
Mountain Lion,
pscp,
PuTTY,
SCP,
VMware,
Vmware Converter,
Windows,
Windows 7
Wednesday, April 10, 2013
Sound Flower captures OS sounds, but not browser's audio
I was trying to capture audio of a webinar and Quicktime was capturing the OS audio as expected, but for whatever reason it was not picking up the audio from Firefox. I decided that maybe it was a browser thing and I was right. Logged in to the webinar with Safari and it worked perfectly.
Download Sound Flower before trying to record.
Download, install, and then open. Once open, you will have a little icon at the top of the screen. Select Sound Flower 2 Channel, Built In Output.
Open Quicktime
File -> New Screen Recording
On the upside down triangle, select Sound Flower 2 Channel
Start Recording!
Download Sound Flower before trying to record.
Download, install, and then open. Once open, you will have a little icon at the top of the screen. Select Sound Flower 2 Channel, Built In Output.
Open Quicktime
File -> New Screen Recording
On the upside down triangle, select Sound Flower 2 Channel
Start Recording!
Labels:
Firefox,
Mac OS X,
OS X Lion,
Quicktime,
Safari,
Screen Capture,
Sound Flower,
Webinar
Wednesday, March 6, 2013
How to sync your Gmail/Google Apps Contacts
I have tested this with iOS and Mac OS X 10.8
Go to where you would setup your contacts. For instance in OS X you would open the contacts app and go to add account.
For iOS you would go to the mail, contacts, calendar section.
Click new for both.
Select Add CardDav Account.
Server: google.com
Username: username@gmail.com (or this can be your google apps account)
Password: enter your password (if your using 2-factor authentication, you need to create an app password)
Description: Whatever you want
The Contacts App takes a few minutes to sync but the iOS app should be instant.
Source: Link
Go to where you would setup your contacts. For instance in OS X you would open the contacts app and go to add account.
For iOS you would go to the mail, contacts, calendar section.
Click new for both.
Select Add CardDav Account.
Server: google.com
Username: username@gmail.com (or this can be your google apps account)
Password: enter your password (if your using 2-factor authentication, you need to create an app password)
Description: Whatever you want
The Contacts App takes a few minutes to sync but the iOS app should be instant.
Source: Link
DNS hostname from a Mac to a Windows machine
I couldn't figure out why when trying to use a host name, like I would on windows, it wouldn't work. It seems that it requires ".local" after the hostname. I can now ping the hosts and map the drives by the hostnames, but dns still won't work. If I find out more I'll update this post.
How to map a windows drive
smb://windowspc.local/c$
Ping the PC
ping windowspc.local
How to map a windows drive
smb://windowspc.local/c$
Ping the PC
ping windowspc.local
Saturday, February 23, 2013
Mac’s Hidden Wifi Diagnostic Tool
Navigate to /System/Library/CoreServices
Launch Wi-Fi Diagnostics
Then do an apple+n
The other way was to hold down the option key while clicking on the Wi-Fi icon in your menu bar and select "Open Wi-Fi Diagnostics..."
Source: Link Link
Launch Wi-Fi Diagnostics
Then do an apple+n
The other way was to hold down the option key while clicking on the Wi-Fi icon in your menu bar and select "Open Wi-Fi Diagnostics..."
Source: Link Link
Labels:
Mac OS X,
Mountain Lion,
Wireless
Friday, October 12, 2012
How do I rotate my screen on an external monitor in OS X
- Open the system preferences
- Hold down the command and option keys while clicking the display icon
- Next locate the screen adjustments on the external monitor and you will notice now there is an option called "Rotation".
- Choose 90 Degrees and now your monitor is in portrait mode.
Source: Link
Labels:
Mac OS X,
OS X Lion,
Rotate Screen
Wednesday, September 12, 2012
Where Are my Microsoft Lync Saved Conversations stored?
If you are running Windows, to save your conversation you have to also be running Microsoft Exchange. It is located under Conversation History.
If you are running Mac OS X, they aren't stored on the server. They are stored locally.
Navigate to:
You will now see all of the people's usernames in folders. Locate user and the conversations are stored inside.
Source: Link
If you are running Mac OS X, they aren't stored on the server. They are stored locally.
Navigate to:
/Users/username/Documents/Microsoft User Data/Microsoft
Lync History/*YOUR-LYNC-USERNAME/You will now see all of the people's usernames in folders. Locate user and the conversations are stored inside.
Source: Link
Tuesday, August 14, 2012
How to disable auto formatting when pasting code in Eclipse
Mac Location:
Open Finder -> Click Go -> Go to Folder
Enter the following /Users/"YOUR USERNAME"/Documents/workspace/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.core.runtime/.settings/
Open org.eclipse.php.ui.prefs in textedit
Add "smartPaste=true"
Save and close.
Source: Link
***DOESN'T WORK IN OS X*** I didn't try it in windows.
FOUND IT!!!
Click Eclipse -> Preferences -> PHP - > Editor -> Typing -> Uncheck "When Pasting Adjust Indentation"
Click Ok
HAPPY PASTING!
Open Finder -> Click Go -> Go to Folder
Enter the following /Users/"YOUR USERNAME"/Documents/workspace/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.core.runtime/.settings/
Open org.eclipse.php.ui.prefs in textedit
Add "smartPaste=true"
Save and close.
Source: Link
***DOESN'T WORK IN OS X*** I didn't try it in windows.
FOUND IT!!!
Click Eclipse -> Preferences -> PHP - > Editor -> Typing -> Uncheck "When Pasting Adjust Indentation"
Click Ok
HAPPY PASTING!
Labels:
10.8,
Eclipse,
Mac OS X,
Mountain Lion,
PHP
Thursday, August 9, 2012
Microsoft Communicator/Lync for Mac Office 2011
"Communicator for Mac is only available to Office for Mac volume license customers and is not available to the general public."
It looks like you can download it but obviously it will only work if you have a communicator server.
Source: Link
Download: Link
I just found some new information.
Source: Link
Download: Link
I just found some new information.
HUP users do receive the Office 2011 Home and Business distribution, which is the source of confusion. We chose to do this because we didn't trust the HUP channel with a pre-PID'd version of Office (Standard).
HUP customers do have the right to install Lync for Mac, so if they obtain the bits from work, or from the following Lync:
http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/mac/X17-88377.dmg
Source: Link
Download: Link
Labels:
Communicator,
Lync,
Mac OS X,
Office 2011
Wednesday, June 20, 2012
How to setup Eclipse to develop in PHP
This is for OS X.
I first went to here and downloaded the Eclipse classic version. I also downloaded the 64-bit one.
Another couple of tidbits...
OS: 10.7.3
Using MAMP -> Other MAMP here
First thing you do is extract it. I then moved the Eclipse folder to /Applications
I then launched Eclipse. It told me I didn't have Java. It will launch Software Update and download the correct version of Java.
It will then ask you about setting up a workspace. If your using MAMP and want to use the htdocs folder, you will want to set the workspace to /Applications/MAMP/.
Note: In the instance you setup the workspace to some where else, go to "File -> Switchwork Space -> Other" to change it.
Next step is to go to Help -> Install New Software. Select the drop down box next to "Work with:" and select "--All Available Sites --". Wait a few minutes while it populates the fields below. In the filter box type PHP and you'll get 3 choices to install. Click finish and they will install.
If you already have existing files in a folder your going to use, I suggest as a backup to do a zip of all the files in the event something goes wrong. I was fine, but just to be on the safe side, do it!
I first went to here and downloaded the Eclipse classic version. I also downloaded the 64-bit one.
Another couple of tidbits...
OS: 10.7.3
Using MAMP -> Other MAMP here
First thing you do is extract it. I then moved the Eclipse folder to /Applications
I then launched Eclipse. It told me I didn't have Java. It will launch Software Update and download the correct version of Java.
It will then ask you about setting up a workspace. If your using MAMP and want to use the htdocs folder, you will want to set the workspace to /Applications/MAMP/.
Note: In the instance you setup the workspace to some where else, go to "File -> Switchwork Space -> Other" to change it.
Next step is to go to Help -> Install New Software. Select the drop down box next to "Work with:" and select "--All Available Sites --". Wait a few minutes while it populates the fields below. In the filter box type PHP and you'll get 3 choices to install. Click finish and they will install.
If you already have existing files in a folder your going to use, I suggest as a backup to do a zip of all the files in the event something goes wrong. I was fine, but just to be on the safe side, do it!
Sunday, June 17, 2012
How to take a screen shot in OS X
I can never remember so I'm finally writing a post about it. Here are the key combos for taking screen shots in OS X.
- Command-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Control-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it to the clipboard
- Command-Control-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it to the clipboard
- Command-Control-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it to the clipboard
This was taken word for word from here.
- Command-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it as a file on the desktop
- Command-Control-Shift-3: Take a screenshot of the screen, and save it to the clipboard
- Command-Control-Shift-4, then select an area: Take a screenshot of an area and save it to the clipboard
- Command-Control-Shift-4, then space, then click a window: Take a screenshot of a window and save it to the clipboard
This was taken word for word from here.
Labels:
Mac OS X,
Screen Capture,
Screen Shot,
tricks
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)